Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: VIP and NIOS2 don't work together

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    31
    Rep Power
    1

    Default VIP and NIOS2 don't work together

    Hi group,

    I am building a small monitor system using D5M and DE2-115.

    My current working code is like:
    D5M camera -> some processing -> Clocked_Video_Input -> alpha_mixer -> Clocked_Video_Output -> VGA port on the board. Images from camera can be displayed on an external monitor correctly.

    Then I tried pattern_generator -> alpha_mixer (controlled by a NIOS2) -> Clocked_Video_Output -> VGA port, and it also works.

    Now I am trying to combine these two, which is just to add the NIOS2 to control the alpha_mixer in the first design. And now I cannot see the output anymore. The NIOS2 core did nothing except initiating the alpha_mixer core. I don't know what's wrong with it.

    One thing I noticed is that the overflow signal from the clocked_video_input core went high.

    Anyone has some suggestions? thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: VIP and NIOS2 don't work together

    try to always use the test pattern generator, i think the mixer should have one

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    31
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: VIP and NIOS2 don't work together

    Thanks for the reply, mrbietola.

    I did try test_pattern_generator. I added 3 channels to the mixer, two were from test_pattern_generator, one were from my VGA data channel. The only thing the CPU did was to switch between these channels according to key press. I can switch between test_pattern_generator channels and display them correctly, but the image of my VGA data channel doesn't display right (I mean a black screen was shown) if I switch to this channel. If I remove the mixer and the CPU, leaving only my data channel in the path, then the image is good again.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    76
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: VIP and NIOS2 don't work together

    Try TO add a frame buffer before the mixer

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: VIP and NIOS2 don't work together

    I'm having a similar problem with a Nios II interfering with a VGA driver that I wrote. The systems are totally independent of one another except for being contained in the same entity. I don't get it. Any thoughts?

Similar Threads

  1. nios2 flash programmer doesn't work
    By simonkbrown in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 3rd, 2012, 01:34 PM
  2. Freq NIOS2 that needs nios2 to work properly
    By kostya_4524 in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 7th, 2011, 05:41 PM
  3. Can nios2linux-1.4.zip work with nios2 5.01?
    By imported_leonqin in forum Linux Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 25th, 2005, 05:28 AM
  4. Can nios2linux-1.4.zip work with nios2 5.01?
    By imported_leonqin in forum Linux Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 24th, 2005, 11:42 PM
  5. Ethernet not work when nios board updated to Nios2
    By imported_writer in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 9th, 2004, 10:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •