Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Modelsim 10.0c and modelsim.ini

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    119
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Modelsim 10.0c and modelsim.ini

    Getting the following error when trying to open modelsim 10.0c

    # ** Error: (vish-7) Failed to open ini file "c:\altera\11.0\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../modelsim.ini" in read mode.

    It is looking at an installation for version 6.6 which no longer exists.

    The version of modelsim.ini I want exists at

    c:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase

    So from 11.0 to 11.1.

    Any ideas?

    I built the sopcinfo file with the options pointing to the 11.1 modelsim directory... so that's not the issue.

    Run configurations in 11.1 EDS also points to C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem

    As I am getting the same error when trying to run simulations from eclipse.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,045
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Modelsim 10.0c and modelsim.ini

    I have several versions of Modelsim installed on the same machine, however, you need to be careful about your environment setup.

    Type 'where' at the Modelsim prompt and post the output.

    Type 'parray env', and then copy-and-paste its output. Edit it to remove most of your personal setup, but keep any variables involving MODELSIM and MGC (Mentor Graphics Corp). I'll see if I can spot the problem.

    Does your project folder have a modelsim.ini or .mpc file?

    Cheers,
    Dave

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    119
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Modelsim 10.0c and modelsim.ini

    Quote Originally Posted by dwh@ovro.caltech.edu View Post
    I have several versions of Modelsim installed on the same machine, however, you need to be careful about your environment setup.

    Type 'where' at the Modelsim prompt and post the output.

    Type 'parray env', and then copy-and-paste its output. Edit it to remove most of your personal setup, but keep any variables involving MODELSIM and MGC (Mentor Graphics Corp). I'll see if I can spot the problem.

    Does your project folder have a modelsim.ini or .mpc file?

    Cheers,
    Dave

    Are there any app notes for managing multiple environments?

    I got rid of some of the problem, at least upon opening modelsim, however there is still the same issue when I run modelsim from eclipse and then enter the 's' macro (setup_sim.do)

    It compiles a load of files and then runs into.

    # vsim +nowarnTFMPC -L lpm_ver -L sgate_ver -L altera_mf_ver -L altgxb_ver -L stratixiigx_hssi_ver -L stratixgx_ver -L stratixgx_gxb_ver -L stratixiigx -L altera_ver -L stratixiii_ver -L stratixii_ver -L cycloneii_ver -L cycloneiii_ver -L stratixiv_hssi_ver -L arriaii_ver -L arriaii_pcie_hip_ver -L arriaii_hssi_ver -L stratixiv_ver -L stratixiv_pcie_hip_ver -L cycloneiv_pcie_hip_ver -L cycloneiv_hssi_ver -L hardcopyiv_pcie_hip_ver -L hardcopyiv_hssi_ver -L stratixv_ver -L stratixv_hssi_ver -L stratixv_pcie_hip_ver -L altera_lnsim_ver -t ps test_bench
    # ** Error: (vsim-7) Failed to open ini file "c:\altera\11.0\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../modelsim.ini" in read mode.
    # Invalid argument. (errno = EINVAL)
    # ** Error: (vsim-7) Failed to open ini file "c:\altera\11.0\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../modelsim.ini" in read mode.
    # Invalid argument. (errno = EINVAL)

    The modelsim.ini file in my project folder is attached as a .txt file (cannot load .ini for some reason)

    Thank you very much for your time.

    Rob.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    119
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Modelsim 10.0c and modelsim.ini

    Output of where is

    # Current directory is: C:\altera\examples\CodecMaster\Sim\simple_memory_m aster_test_sim
    # Project is: C:/altera/examples/CodecMaster/Sim/simple_memory_master_test_sim/simple_memory_master_test_sim.mpf
    #

    Output of parray env is

    # env(ITCL_LIBRARY) = C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/itcl3.2
    # env(ITK_LIBRARY) = C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/itk3.2
    # env(MODELSIM) = C:/altera/examples/CodecMaster/Sim/simple_memory_master_test_sim/simple_memory_master_test_sim.mpf
    # env(MODEL_TECH) = C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem
    # env(MODEL_TECH_TCL) = C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../tcl
    # env(PATH) = C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem;;C:/altera/11.1/nios2eds\bin;C:/altera/11.1/nios2eds\sdk2\bin;C:/altera/11.1/nios2eds\bin\nios2-gnutools\H-i686-pc-cygwin\bin;C:/altera/11.1/nios2eds/bin/cygpath;C:/altera/11.1/quartus/bin;C:/altera/11.1/quartus/sopc_builder/model/lib;c:\altera\11.1\quartus\bin\;C:\Windows\system3 2;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\S ystem32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;c:\Program Files\Intel\DMIX;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio Shared\DLLShared\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio Shared\10.0\DLLShared\;C:\Program Files\TortoiseSVN\bin;C:\Program Files\IVI Foundation\VISA\Win64\Bin\;C:\Program Files (x86)\IVI Foundation\VISA\WinNT\Bin\;C:\Program Files (x86)\IVI Foundation\IVI\bin;C:\Program Files\IVI Foundation\IVI\bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\IVI Foundation\VISA\WinNT\Bin;C:\Program Files\SourceGear\Common\DiffMerge\;C:\altera\11.1\ modelsim_ase\win32aloem;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Common\Tools\WinNT;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Common\MSDev98\Bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Common\Tools;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\bin;c:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32a loem
    # env(QTEST_LICENSE_FILE) = C:\altera\11.0\4240_BeMicro_any_ON_lic.dat
    # env(QUARTUS_BINDIR) = c:/altera/11.1/quartus/bin/
    # env(QUARTUS_ROOTDIR) = C:/altera/11.1/quartus
    # env(SHELL) = /bin/sh
    # env(SOPC_KIT_NIOS2) = C:/altera/11.1/nios2eds
    # env(TCL_LIBRARY) = C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../tcl/tcl8.4
    # env(TK_LIBRARY) = C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../tcl/tk8.4
    # env(VSIM_LIBRARY) = C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../tcl/vsim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,045
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Modelsim 10.0c and modelsim.ini

    Are there any app notes for managing multiple environments?
    One of the appendices in the Modelsim reference manual has details.

    It compiles a load of files and then runs into.

    # ** Error: (vsim-7) Failed to open ini file "c:\altera\11.0\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../modelsim.ini" in read mode.
    Ok, so look in the modelsim.ini you posted:

    [Library]
    others = c:\altera\11.0\modelsim_ase\win32aloem/../modelsim.ini
    Its telling Modelsim to use the old modelsim.ini file.

    Modelsim tracks libraries using either modelsim.ini or the .mpf file. Since your parray indicates

    # env(MODELSIM) = C:/altera/examples/CodecMaster/Sim/simple_memory_master_test_sim/simple_memory_master_test_sim.mpf
    Then that file should be responsible for tracking libraries. Open it and see if it is also pointing to the old modelsim.ini file.

    What probably happened is you updated your tools, but had a project with an old modelsim.ini file in it.

    Cheers,
    Dave

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    119
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Modelsim 10.0c and modelsim.ini

    Thanks. That's improved things. I think I was getting myself confused with the modelsim.ini file in the project and the one in the C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase project.

    I see now...

    Thanks again....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,045
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Modelsim 10.0c and modelsim.ini

    Thanks. That's improved things.
    Great!

    I think I was getting myself confused with the modelsim.ini file in the project and the one in the C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase project.
    The modelsim.ini in C:\altera\11.1\modelsim_ase should be considered the 'master' (and read-only) copy of modelsim.ini. If you look in it, you'll see it has the library mappings for the Altera libraries.

    When you create a new library, eg., vlib work, vmap work [pwd]/work, the master modelsim.ini is copied to your local folder (since the master is read-only) and that file contains a link back to the master (via an entry under [Library], or perhaps its [Others] I forget). The path to the work library is then added to this copy of modelsim.ini under the [Library] field. The .mpf file contains pretty much the same info.

    Cheers,
    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. SOPC Simulation with ModelSim Altera vs. ModelSim PE
    By Marlon Winder in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 9th, 2011, 10:19 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 8th, 2011, 08:44 PM
  3. Everytime Quartus2 invokes Modelsim, Modelsim has to recompile atlera devices again!
    By irun2 in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 20th, 2010, 05:38 AM
  4. Difference between Altera Modelsim and Modelsim by Mentor?
    By cttmoon in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 16th, 2010, 03:27 AM
  5. help me about modelsim
    By eposar in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 5th, 2008, 01:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •