Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    294
    Rep Power
    1

    Default How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    We want to debug different FPGAs/cplds which are in different JTAG chain at the same time using same computer. And we have several usb blaster cables, but one computer only recognizes one usb cable. So we must change the usb blaster cable's place very often.

    Is it possible to let one computer to recognize different usb blaster cables when they are connected to the PC at the same time?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    608
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    Hi, I think 2 usb Blaster can be plugged in the same PC. There are distinguished somewhere (In Nios II command line, I could select which USB Blaster I want to use but I didn't try)

    BUT because of USB, you are NOT sure that Windows points to the same USB Blaster.
    It may be difficult to check and assign USB Blaster to the good board.

    Other guys talked about multiple USB Blasters in the Altera forum.

    Good luck !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    No problem with two ore more USB blasters on the same PC. The first one connected is called USB-0, the next USB-1 and so on.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bochum Germany
    Posts
    5,846
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    If both USB Blaster have the same serial number, it's unpleasant. In this case, you should give one device a different number with the FTDI tool. The topic has been frequently discussed at Altera forum.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    294
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    If both USB Blaster have the same serial number, it's unpleasant. In this case, you should give one device a different number with the FTDI tool. The topic has been frequently discussed at Altera forum.
    Yes, you are right. Unfortunately, my supplier makes all USB blasters with a same ID.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,986
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    Yes, you are right. Unfortunately, my supplier makes all USB blasters with a same ID.
    That doesn't matter. You can use FT_PROG to read the USB-Blaster EEPROM, save it to a template, and then re-write the EEPROMs with new serial numbers. You can even write your name in there if you want, eg., JERRY00, JERRY01, etc.

    Here's the FTDI application:

    http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Utilities.htm#FT_Prog

    Cheers,
    Dave

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    294
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    Quote Originally Posted by st_f View Post
    No problem with two ore more USB blasters on the same PC. The first one connected is called USB-0, the next USB-1 and so on.
    What kinds usb cable do you used? Altera or local cable?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,986
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    What kinds usb cable do you used? Altera or local cable?
    Terasic USB-Blasters, and USB-Blasters embedded on development kits.

    If the USB-Blaster circuit consists of an FTDI FT245BM USB-to-FIFO device, then it has an EEPROM that contains the configuration information. This is what FT_PROG reads, and then allows you to reprogram.

    If you are using a Cypress FX2 clone, then you have to replace the fake EEPROM firmware with updated firmware with a new serial number.

    Cheers,
    Dave

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    294
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    It's OK when i change software to QII 11.1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,986
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: How to use two USB blaster cable in the same computer

    It's OK when i change software to QII 11.1
    Yes. I have Quartus 9.0sp2, 10.1, 11.0, 11.1sp1 installed on one machine and they all recognize the USB-Blasters.

    Cheers,
    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Is there a way to slow down the USB Blaster Cable operation?
    By ELI_HAIT in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2011, 07:21 AM
  2. Byte Blaster MV cable Length
    By kirangowle in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 17th, 2011, 08:31 PM
  3. Connecting UP3 (byteblaster II) to computer via USB to parallel cable
    By rcastilloec in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 27th, 2010, 11:10 AM
  4. do I need the USB Blaster Cable
    By moou in forum University Program
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 16th, 2010, 07:48 AM
  5. Transfer data from fpga to computer via usb blaster
    By athadi in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 9th, 2008, 10:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •