Thread: Designing lookup table in FPGA

Default Designing lookup table in FPGA

I am quite new to fpga. I need to build lookup tables in FPGA and a program in C updates the content of these LUT every cycle (roughly 1ms). Could anybody give me some idea how to design it?

Thank you for your help.

Fransisco

Default Re: Designing lookup table in FPGA

Hello,

you can achieve this with FPGA internal dual-port RAM. One port is used for updating the table, the other for normal operation. Documentation can be found e. g. from the Quartus Megawizard where the RAM is instantiated.

Regards,
    Frank

Thank you Frank for your reply.

yes I can instantiate 2 port ram in Quartus megawizard thing but my main concern is how to make the software module (Program in C) update the lookup table created my megawizard (or verilog). My problem is how to make the software (C program in PC) and hardware part (fpga) communicate with each other so that the LUT can be updated after certain interval (1ms).

Thank you very much for your help.

Hello,

I expected a similar problem, too, but you gave no clues how your design may look like. Basically you need to provide some kind of interface at your FPGA that makes it behave as a peripheral to the processor. This could be a parallel data bus of suitable width (8, 16, 32 bit) with control lines and a multiplexed or non-multiplexed address bus, or could be a serial bus as SPI or I2C.

Most important parameters are required throughput and processor abilities. As dual-port RAM operates synchronous (as user defined FPGA logic in most cases, too), it could be meaningful to use a clock from processor in the interface partition. Other option is to use the same clock as in the remaining design and synchronize bus signal processing to this clock.

Regards,
    Frank

Quote Originally Posted by fransisco123 View Post