Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cyclone II programming with xlinx impact

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Cyclone II programming with xlinx impact

    Hi all,
    I am new in FPGA development environment and need your kind help please,
    I have bought an Altera cyclone II development Kit and i dont have any ByteBlaster cable to load the program. I have managed to get a xlinx USB platform cable and Impact software. can i use the programmer and impact software to program cyclone II through JTAG. Please advise or direct me.
    Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by mortuzahasan; December 5th, 2010 at 06:17 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    191
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone II programming with xlinx impact

    which development kit do you use?
    some of them does not need USB-Blaster.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone II programming with xlinx impact

    thanks for your reply. I got this development kit from ebay. its manufactured in Chaina. its showing ' Altera BAIXUN'

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    191
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone II programming with xlinx impact

    I havn't heard of that.
    you can buy USB-Blaster at terasic
    http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/pa...oryNo=53&No=46

    I recommend you to buy DE0 board / DE3 board or something from Terasic.
    this is not so expensive and many information on the web.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone II programming with xlinx impact

    thanks for you reply. i can't afford to buy a new one now. i have uploaded the schematics. can i use xlinx programmer with impact or can i make a JTAG programmer to program the FPGA. thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4,165
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone II programming with xlinx impact

    No you must have an Altera USB Blaster or 100% compatible cable (such as the cheaper EEBlaster) to use the Altera tools.

Similar Threads

  1. cyclone 3 programming fail
    By mkraj33 in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 6th, 2010, 07:15 AM
  2. DFF Toggle Flop / PLL clock division impact on timing
    By zhangyi17 in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 26th, 2008, 10:47 AM
  3. Cyclone II programming problems
    By riemerg in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: March 11th, 2008, 05:17 AM
  4. Performance impact of data width
    By ThomsonBro in forum General Software Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 21st, 2005, 10:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •