Thread: How to connect a verilog testbench to my design in Modelsim

Default How to connect a verilog testbench to my design in Modelsim

I'm new to Altera and this whole design process. I have created a small counter design, compiled it successfully and now I want to do a functional simulation with ModelSim. When I start RTL Simulation I only get my counter design in Modelsim so there is no testbench. I have a testbench but can't figure out how to connect it in Modelsim.
    If I add the testbench file to my project in Quartus, then the design won't compile (does not like to compile a testbench). How am I supposed to do this?

Default Re: How to connect a verilog testbench to my design in Modelsim

Start Modelsim.

1) vlog my_counter.v

2) vlog my_counter_tb.v

3) vsim -t ps my_counter_tb

4) add wave *

5) run 1 us

Cheers,
    Dave

PS. I've attached a couple of SystemVerilog testbenches; use vlog -sv when compiling the .sv files.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by dwh@ovro.caltech.edu; February 23rd, 2012 at 02:29 PM.

Thanks, Dave. That works. Is there a way to have it automatically set up those things each time I run ModelSim from the Quartus II RTL Simulation command? Is there a macro or a dofile I need to set up?

-John

Is there a way to have it automatically set up those things
    Altera and Modelsim sometimes call them .do files, and Modelsim will run them with the do command, eg., do setup_sim.do. However, they're just tcl files, and source setup_sim.tcl is the same thing.

Here's a Modelsim simulation example here:

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=32386

Look at the sim.tcl file.

Cheers,
    Dave

Hi Dave,