Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: ModelSim 6.1g error in startup script

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default ModelSim 6.1g error in startup script

    I have downloaded and installed ModelSim-Altera 6.1g (Quartus II 8.0sp1) Web Edition. The installation package is named as "80sp1_modelsim_ae_free.exe".
    Then I downloaded license file from Altera's official site and created two Environment Variables LM_LICENSE_FILE and MGLS_LICENSE_FILE. I set their values to the license file path. The software product began to operate properly.
    By mistake I have deleted variable LM_LICENSE_FILE. Since that time the program fails to start with the following message:

    Error in startup script.

    invalid command name "?????????"
    while executing
    "LibraryGetMappings $new_ini"
    (procedure "InitializeINIFile" line 33)
    invoked from within
    "InitializeINIFile quitely"
    invoked from within
    "ncFyP12"
    (file "F:\Program Files\Alter@\80sp1\modelsim_ae\win32aloem/../tcl/vsim/vsim" line 1)

    I have created the deleted variable and reinstalled the product, but this did not solve the problem. See attachments for more details.
    Please, help me!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Beautiful South coast of England
    Posts
    185
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ModelSim 6.1g error in startup script

    Hi there,

    Other people seem to have seen this.

    Read
    http://www.edaboard.com/ftopic87131.html

    One solution that seems to have had sucess is (See bottom of above linked page)


    1) Uninstall modelsim

    2) Run regedt32 (From Window Start Menu->Run)

    3) In the Registry Editor window that pops up do
    EDIT> Find type Model Technology Incorporated

    and Delete that folder

    4) Reinstall Modelsim


    Hope this helps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ModelSim 6.1g error in startup script

    Thank you very much! Your instructions helped me to resolve my poblem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ModelSim 6.1g error in startup script

    Hi
    I have a similar problem with my modelsim se 6.4c uner vista ulimate.
    before that i used to use it under xp and it was fine, i had to move to vista and now i can't run it under vista.
    it gives

    error in startup script
    invalid command name ".main_pane.mdi.interior.cs.vm
    while executing
    "GUIMAIN"


    invoked from within
    "ncFyP12"
    (file "c:\moeltech_6.4c\winn32/,,/tcl/vsim/vsim" line 1)


    please help
    thanks a lot
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Modelsim error: UDP ports cannot be connected by name
    By e.optic in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 5th, 2014, 01:13 AM
  2. Modelsim Altera and Quartus II Web Edition Error
    By boottrax in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 05:25 AM
  3. Error while simulating with ModelSim
    By Tulkas in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: August 18th, 2011, 11:19 PM
  4. RedBoot ROM-startup linker script broken?
    By grante in forum ecos Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 1st, 2006, 11:03 AM
  5. sopc 5.0 error evaluation of tcl script
    By mtmurphy in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 5th, 2005, 07:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •