Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    Hi All,

    I am completely new to this forum and to the Quartus II software and am seeking a bit of guidance. I have created an encoder that generates partity bits based upon XOR gates. I have 3 input pins and 3 output pins. When I compile the initial encoder, i get no errors reported. I have now created a vector waveform file to check that the encoder is operating correctly by simulating all possible inputs. All input and outpins are present in the waveform file, with input pin 1 being set a clock value every 50us, pin 2 ever 100us, and pin 3 every 200us. I have ensured that the following is checked 'Overwrite Simualtion Input File with Simualtion Results' and I have made the new vector waveform file the input for the encoder under simulator settings. When i try to run the simulation, I get the following error.

    Code:
    Info: *******************************************************************
    Info: Running Quartus II Simulator
     Info: Version 9.1 Build 350 03/24/2010 Service Pack 2 SJ Full Version
     Info: Processing started: Wed Nov 13 10:04:24 2013
    Info: Command: quartus_sim --read_settings_files=on --write_settings_files=off CODEC -c ENCODER
    Error: Run Generate Functional Simulation Netlist (quartus_map ENCODER --generate_functional_sim_netlist) to generate functional simulation netlist for top level entity "ENCODER" before running the Simulator (quartus_sim)
    Error: Quartus II Simulator was unsuccessful. 1 error, 0 warnings
     Error: Peak virtual memory: 153 megabytes
     Error: Processing ended: Wed Nov 13 10:04:24 2013
     Error: Elapsed time: 00:00:00
     Error: Total CPU time (on all processors): 00:00:00
    As vague as my description is, is anyone able to shed any light on a possible reason why I may be receiving this? I have attached my project file in the .ZIP attached which may help to illustrate the problem. I am expecting the waveform output pins to change to simulate the different parity bits that have been generated. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    80
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    I am able to simulate the same design which you have attached with Quartus v9.0 without any error.I have attached image of waveform.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    Quote Originally Posted by zoomkrupesh View Post
    I am able to simulate the same design which you have attached with Quartus v9.0 without any error.I have attached image of waveform.
    Many thanks for your response. I will double check what version we are running, but i believe it is also 9. Are you running an updated version of 9 perhaps? Just for clarity, how exactly did you get the figure in the document? Did you just simply click on 'Start Simulation' under the processing menu? The figure is what I would also expect to see from the simulation.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    80
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    I am using Quartus v9.0 Service Pack v 2.116.It can be seen from your snap shot that you are compiling your design in Quartus v9.1. Unfortunately, I don't have Quartus v9.1.

    I followed following steps.

    (1) Compile the design.
    (2) Generate Functional Simulation Netlist. (Processing -> Generate Functional Simulation Netlist)
    (3) Start Simulation (Processing -> Start Simulation)

    I think i found the problem. You missed step 2 as it can be seen in the error snap.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Thumbs up Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    Quote Originally Posted by zoomkrupesh View Post
    I am using Quartus v9.0 Service Pack v 2.116.It can be seen from your snap shot that you are compiling your design in Quartus v9.1. Unfortunately, I don't have Quartus v9.1.

    I followed following steps.

    (1) Compile the design.
    (2) Generate Functional Simulation Netlist. (Processing -> Generate Functional Simulation Netlist)
    (3) Start Simulation (Processing -> Start Simulation)

    I think i found the problem. You missed step 2 as it can be seen in the error snap.
    You're my new best friend. Works perfectly now when i complete the second step. Many thanks for your help with this!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    waveform file not running in quatrus ii ver 13.1
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    80
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    Altera has removed the support for simulator after Quartus v 9.1 so you won't be able to use Quartus Simulator in newer version. As you can see from the message you can use Altera-Modelsim.You can download it from the altera website.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    sir i have ver 13.1 and also installed model sim but still the simulation is not running plz let me know which settings i do for making waveform using modelsim simulator. thanks in advance.

    Quote Originally Posted by zoomkrupesh View Post
    Altera has removed the support for simulator after Quartus v 9.1 so you won't be able to use Quartus Simulator in newer version. As you can see from the message you can use Altera-Modelsim.You can download it from the altera website.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    80
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    Have your provided path of Modelsim as suggested in your image?

    You can use modelsim standalone as well.No need for the quartus to run the Modelsim. You can create project in Modelsim and add the source file and test bench file to the project.Compile and simulate. You can find tutorial to simulate the design in modelsim from the Help once you open the Modelsim.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Waveform File not Running Under Simulation

    sir i have seen in this video the person is simulating waveform http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8JAkKhxlQI
    path of model sim which i am using is C:\altera\13.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem
    plz help me sir why not running ?????? and i am getting this error
    Determining the location of the ModelSim executable...

    Using: C:\altera\13.1\modelsim_ase\win32aloem

    To specify a ModelSim executable directory, select: Tools -> Options -> EDA Tool Options
    Note: if both ModelSim-Altera and ModelSim executables are available, ModelSim-Altera will be used.

    **** Generating the ModelSim Testbench ****

    quartus_eda --gen_testbench --check_outputs=on --tool=modelsim_oem --format=verilog comp1bit -c comp1bit --vector_source=D:/quatrus 2 projects/comp1bit/comp1bit.vwf --testbench_file=D:/quatrus 2 projects/comp1bit/simulation/modelsim/comp1bit.vwf.vt

    Error (23028): Unknown argument "2". Refer to --help for legal arguments.

    Usage:
    ------

    quartus_eda [-h | --help[=] | -v]
    quartus_eda []
    quartus_eda -t
    Error.

Similar Threads

  1. simulation waveform for more than 1micro second
    By asa in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 15th, 2014, 07:16 AM
  2. Bug in Quartus 13 and Waveform Simulation
    By mattjakob in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 25th, 2013, 06:33 PM
  3. Convering waveform file into text file in Quartus
    By Rami_Amiri in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 27th, 2011, 11:11 AM
  4. waveform simulation..
    By feka in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2011, 01:53 AM
  5. Help: about simulation waveform
    By policeman in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 26th, 2010, 07:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •