Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ALTPLL vs ALTPLL_RECONFIG

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    35
    Rep Power
    1

    Default ALTPLL vs ALTPLL_RECONFIG

    Hi All,

    What's the difference between the ALTPLL and ALTPLL_RECONFIG? When to use each one?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,326
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ALTPLL vs ALTPLL_RECONFIG

    Read through the "ALTPLL_RECONFIG User Guide". This IP allows you to reconfigure the PLL from the FPGA fabric, whilst it's operating.

    The ALT_PLL IP has a static configuration, determined when the FPGA is configured. See the "ALT_PLL User Guide" for comparison.

    When you might use each depends on your requirements.

    Cheers,
    Alex

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    35
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ALTPLL vs ALTPLL_RECONFIG

    Thanks for your reply.

    After I added the ALTPLL to the project, how can I re-configure it (the IP was just instantiated to the Project without using the QSys)?

    Thank you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,326
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ALTPLL vs ALTPLL_RECONFIG

    From within Quartus, open the Verilog or VHDL file that corresponds to the ALTPLL IP. That should open the IP editor (rather than the code in a text editor), allowing you to modify the settings.

    Cheers,
    Alex

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    35
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ALTPLL vs ALTPLL_RECONFIG

    Thank you! It worked for me :-)

    Now, how can I simulate this IP, which was already instantiated to my RTL (I'm using the Altera Modelsim Starter simulator)? Should I need some special files to my project in order to simulate the IP?

    Here is a list of the files, which were generated from IP Catalog:
    alt_pll_bb.v
    alt_pll.bsf
    alt_pll_inst.v
    alt_pll.ppf
    alt_pll.qip
    alt_pll.v

    Thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,326
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ALTPLL vs ALTPLL_RECONFIG

    You need to compile the relevant Altera libraries before you can simulate one of the megafunctions - including ALTPLL.

    Enter the following lines to the Modelsim command line:
    Code:
    vlib altera_mf_ver
    vmap altera_mf_ver altera_mf_ver
    vlog -work altera_mf_ver {QUARTUS_ROOT_DIR}/eda/sim_lib/altera_mf.v
    Replacing {QUARTUS_ROOT_DIR} with a route directory or environment variable. This will compile the library, dumping it to disk. So, you only need do this once (per library release).

    You'll then need to modify your vsim command to make it aware of your newly compiled library.
    Code:
    vsim -L altera_mf_ver -t ps work.{top}
    Where {top} is your top level simulation entity.

    Cheers,
    Alex

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 14th, 2014, 11:35 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 5th, 2013, 12:07 AM
  3. altpll_reconfig and dynamic phase shifting
    By mvanpelt in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 7th, 2010, 07:19 AM
  4. simulating altpll_reconfig
    By gas in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 5th, 2010, 03:57 PM
  5. Problem with ALTPLL_RECONFIG in Cyclone III
    By Anton Klimovskih in forum IP Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 11th, 2008, 12:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •