Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Why does Nios II ISR have context parameter?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    89
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Why does Nios II ISR have context parameter?

    Since an ISR already has access to global variables and registers, why do we need to have a "void* context" parameter in an ISR?

    Since the term context is also used in then sense of device/application context and context switch where value of specific device registers is stored, why then is the same term used to pass optional information to an ISR in Nios II HAL?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    89
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Why does Nios II ISR have context parameter?

    While I have figured out other things about questions I posted earlier, this question really needs answer from someone that has access to esoteric knowledge. Since an interrupt already has access to global variables and thus regiters in memory map, it is not clear why someone would invent the concept of "context" passed to an ISR.

Similar Threads

  1. extracting FPGA context
    By baptboy in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 13th, 2013, 05:28 AM
  2. Registers in non-interrupt context switch.
    By mgaron in forum MicroC/OS-II Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 16th, 2011, 01:17 PM
  3. Code to determine interrupt context?
    By sharpcon in forum General Software Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 16th, 2010, 01:46 AM
  4. Newbie Help - ISR Context ptr vs. Global
    By KWolfe in forum General Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 19th, 2006, 04:32 AM
  5. How to read the context in the EPCSXX?
    By nios_xx in forum General Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 21st, 2005, 04:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •