Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Red face Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

    Hello everyone! I have deal with soc for several month, and i almost scanned all the topics in this forum.
    We mostly talk about the core #0. so I am confused that why no topic mentioned about how to use the core #1?
    We all know that Linux OS will manage both cores in SMP mode. But in a baremental project, how we take full use of the second core?

    I have two questions:
    1: baremental(core #0) + baremental(core #1) mode
    ACHIEVED: I have achieved running two cores using JTAG line to load programs, and it works will!
    QUESTION: How we boot the both cores automatically? I have tried using core#0 to load program of core#1 to a specific ddr3 location, release core#1 from reset, but i failed. I can't read the data successfully from nand flash using HWLIB divers.
    2: Linux(core #0) + baremental(core #1) mode
    ACHIEVED : I can running linux on core #0, meanwhile ,I can load core#1 's program using JTAG line, it works well!
    QUESTION: How can linux load core #1's program from file system. I have no time to do this experiment!

    I will be thankful for any advice for me. help.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

    To run different programs on the cores, there is no need to have core #0 to load the program for core #1.
    The memory is shared between both cores, and if the cache is not set for non-shared, both processors see the same memory.
    Upon reset, core #0 is allowed to run and core #1 remains under reset.
    There is a short sequence to perform with core #0 to inform core #1 where to start executing and to release it from reset.
    We have a version of our SMP RTOS available as freeware.
    There is a demo in that free package showing how to do bare-metal using both cores.
    You can download it from:
    www.code-time.com

    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Red face Re: Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

    Hello ericv!
    I am grateful for you reply! You open a new window for me, and it is totally new scene outside the window!
    I have downloaded this freeware package from code-time. I read the code roughly! I find some point:
    1: Is this program open source? Some vital functions such as "OSstart()、OSintOn()、TSKcreate("App Core 1", 0, 8192, &App_1, 1)".....
    I can only find their declaration in head file "uAbassi.h", but their source has been compiled into a lib file.

    2: I know such a bare-metal project is just an operating system. It takes a lot effort to finish such a project!
    I am very interested about how function "TSKcreate()" executed in core #0 makes core #1 execute "app_1" ?
    When we release core #1 from reset, it will jump to a specific address and run, the question is how do we know where to jump?
    How core #1 finish initialization? I remember there is a file called "start.s" in UCOS ii to set up core #1.

    I must have a lot of knowledge to learn! Can you suggest some books, blogs, PDF documents or else for me. I am thirsty for this!
    Waiting for you reply! best wishes!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

    You can find all the information about TSKcreate() and all other RTOS services in the user manual.
    The manual is downloadable from the website.
    The package contains strip down version of our SMP multi-core core, and the bare-metal example is simply an application running only 2 tasks.
    - 2 cores with 2 tasks means each core run one of the 2 tasks, different from the other core.
    For books, blogs, etc:
    a quick search on "RTOS tutorial" would be a good starting point.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

    Hi zhuyue0414,
    I am using Cyclone V SoC. I wanted to use both cores(in SMP mode) in bare metal applications.
    How did you achieved running two cores using JTAG?
    How to select the core number from DS-5?
    help me in this regard.

    --
    Selvakumar

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

    In the debug configuration (connection tab), select:
    Altera
    Cyclone V SoC (Dual Core)
    Bare Metal Debug
    Debug Cortex-A9x2 SMP

    Then you have to run an appropriate initialization script to set-up the cores / debugger & load the program.

    Regards

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

    Hi,
    Can you suggest what changes has to be made in the initialization script to set-up the cores / debugger & load the program.
    Also can you provide basic initialization script/Project to proceed further.
    It will be of great helpful.
    Thank you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Boot two cores in cyclone V with two different programs or OS?

    Download any of our SMP freeware for the Cyclone V device from
    code-time.com/smp_free.html

    Each DS5 project has a DS5 script named debug-nonhosted.ds (they are at the tip level inside the projecst.
    All you need to change in them is the name of binary file loaded and that's near the end of the script
    The package also include the SPL / U-boot for the supported boards.
    Each command in the scripts are commented; that should allow you to understand step by step what needs to be done.

    Regards

Similar Threads

  1. EPCS4 Device Programs and Verifies, but does not configure Cyclone III
    By cc6g11 in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 5th, 2017, 12:13 AM
  2. Cyclone V (with HPS) Linux Driverfor IP-Cores
    By c32 in forum IP Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 17th, 2013, 03:29 AM
  3. can't download programs into the ep1
    By liuyongfei in forum General Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 4th, 2010, 01:52 AM
  4. UBoot and standalone programs
    By motal in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 9th, 2006, 05:09 AM
  5. How can I start different programs from flash.
    By Fischer in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 6th, 2004, 05:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •