Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: FFT Megafunction v12.0 issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    1

    Default FFT Megafunction v12.0 issues

    Hi,

    I was using a FFT Megafunction v12.0 to calculate 512-point FFT, and evaluating it on a DE2-115 board, which has a Cyclone IV E FPGA. The issue I have with this Megafunction is that it always gives incorrect results in the first two run, and gives the correct results in the third run and after, given that I feed the same data into the FFT core. Have any of you met the same problem? I don't understand why this is the case? Is it something to do with the Megafunction itself or it is related to my FFT controller design. Any input is welcome.

    Thanks,

    -Roger

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,537
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FFT Megafunction v12.0 issues

    Quote Originally Posted by roger8144 View Post
    Hi,

    I was using a FFT Megafunction v12.0 to calculate 512-point FFT, and evaluating it on a DE2-115 board, which has a Cyclone IV E FPGA. The issue I have with this Megafunction is that it always gives incorrect results in the first two run, and gives the correct results in the third run and after, given that I feed the same data into the FFT core. Have any of you met the same problem? I don't understand why this is the case? Is it something to do with the Megafunction itself or it is related to my FFT controller design. Any input is welcome.

    Thanks,

    -Roger
    I have across same problem. I use reset per each frame and from start and it sorted out

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FFT Megafunction v12.0 issues

    Thank you for the reply. Can you be more specific how you reset the core? Are you reset it multiple times before you feed the data in? Would you be able to share more in this regard?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,537
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FFT Megafunction v12.0 issues

    Quote Originally Posted by roger8144 View Post
    Thank you for the reply. Can you be more specific how you reset the core? Are you reset it multiple times before you feed the data in? Would you be able to share more in this regard?
    In my case the first set of outputs was wrong (I used streaming block floating arch.) .
    Processing was continuous for some hundreds of frames but with some gaps at available input. So I put one pulse of reset at start and in the gaps. I mean fft was only allowed to work after a reset release.
    Check first your own logic of SOP,EOP,Vld, and any fft error output. if you are applying reset at start then my reply doesn't apply to you really

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FFT Megafunction v12.0 issues

    Thank you for the details. I think I didn't apply the reset_n before the start, after I apply it, it looks good. Thanks for the tips.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 21st, 2014, 07:57 AM
  2. SPI Megafunction?
    By BryanELittle in forum VHDL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 11th, 2014, 05:58 AM
  3. need help about MegaFunction
    By may in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 9th, 2014, 11:55 PM
  4. Megafunction
    By sffong2 in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 4th, 2012, 09:55 PM
  5. LPM_Divide Megafunction Timing Issues
    By km25 in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 19th, 2012, 06:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •