Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: cache not enable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    1

    Default cache not enable

    Dear all,

    I have some questions about the U-boot. The hardware board is designed by myself. The SoC is 10AS016E4F27E3SG.

    I run the Bootloader on the board and print the following information:

    U-Boot 2014.10 (Apr 20 2018 - 13:44:44)


    CPU : Altera SOCFPGA Arria 10 Platform
    BOARD : Altera SOCFPGA Arria 10 Dev Kit
    I2C: ready
    DRAM: WARNING: Caches not enabled
    SOCFPGA DWMMC: 0
    FPGA: writing output_file.rbf ...
    Full Configuration Succeeded.
    emif_reset interrupt acknowledged
    emif_reset interrupt acknowledged
    emif_reset interrupt acknowledged
    Error: Could Not Calibrate SDRAM
    DDRCAL: Failed
    INFO : Skip relocation as SDRAM is non secure memory
    Reserving 2048 Bytes for IRQ stack at: ffe386e8
    DRAM : 0 Bytes
    data abort
    pc : [<ffe001cc>] lr : [<ffe024cd>]
    sp : ffe3fff0 ip : 00000016 fp : 00000001
    r10: ffd02078 r9 : ffe38ee8 r8 : ffe00000
    r7 : ffe20444 r6 : 00000000 r5 : 00000000 r4 : ffeff000
    r3 : ffe38faf r2 : ffe40000 r1 : ffe3b000 r0 : ffe38ee8
    Flags: nzcv IRQs on FIQs on Mode SVC_32
    Resetting CPU ...


    resetting ...

    Why is the cache not enabled?

  2. #2
    Daixiwen is offline Moderator **Forum Master**
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4,524
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: cache not enable

    I'm not sure not having the cache enable at such an early point in the boot process is really a problem. I think the real problem is the SDRAM calibration that failed. You can compile a new version of the preloader wich will give you more output on the calibration process and where it fails, by changing the RUNTIME_CAL_REPORT to 1 in uboot-socfpga/board/altera/socfpga/sdram/sequencer_defines.h and recompiling it.
    Have a look at https://www.altera.com/content/dam/a...ory/emi_ip.pdf sections 17.4 and 17.5 for more information on how to debug calibration failures.
    Definition of a man-year: 730 people trying to finish the project before lunch

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: cache not enable

    Thank you very much for your reply.I changed RUNTIME_CAL_REPORT to 1 according to your method,but I could not also calibrate SDRAM.The error message is consistent.I found that I didn't place the PLL reference clock pin in the address/command bank.Through the reference design I found that the PLL-ref-clock should be a differential clock,but I didn't connect the differential clock outside BANK 2K( address/command bank).Is this the reason twhy I can't calibrate DDR?In this case, what suggestions can be set to generate pll_ref_clk clock, so as to achieve the DDR3 read and write control.

Similar Threads

  1. Count enable vs Clock enable
    By Aprendiendo in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 24th, 2017, 08:23 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 15th, 2015, 12:21 PM
  3. Enable L2 Cache
    By someusername in forum SoC Baremetal and Hardware Libraries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 16th, 2014, 07:16 AM
  4. Cache Coherence
    By mindstorm in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 11th, 2006, 05:48 AM
  5. Selective Cache Enable/Disable support
    By tv_hari in forum Linux Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 15th, 2005, 05:44 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •