Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Can not program MAX7000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Question Can not program MAX7000

    I can not program my MAX7000.

    I fell back to Quartus 13.0sp1 in order to create the POF. I can not get that POF into the part.

    The part I'm using is the EPM7064AETC44-10N

    The programmer identifies the part as a EPM7064AE. I have tried creating POFs for the EPM7064AETA and EPM7064AETC.

    In both cases the programmer aborts because the part found on the JTAG chain does not match the part in the POF.

    What am I doing wrong?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Weikersheim, Germany
    Posts
    286
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Can not program MAX7000

    Hi,
    it is a Long time ago I had a MAX7000 design, but as far as I recall:
    The "TC44-10N" describes the chip type (TQFP), Commercial temperature grade, Speed and "N" was IIRC the indicator for "no Pb"...
    The programmer does not identify the complete physical configuration, i.e. "only" the familiy (MAX7000) and size ("064").
    The only idea I can contribute is to check in Quartus that the correct device is assigned for the Project ("there" in the design process the complete type needs to be selected afaik)


    Maybe that helps, Carlhermann

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    332
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Can not program MAX7000

    I have a MAX7064S design.

    In the .qsf file, I have the line: set_global_assignment -name DEVICE "EPM7064SLC44-10"

    and the .cdf file I use to launch into Quartus Programmer 13.0sp1 has this in it:

    Code:
    /* Quartus II 32-bit Version 13.0.1 Build 232 06/12/2013 Service Pack 1 SJ Full Version */
    JedecChain;
    	FileRevision(JESD32A);
    	DefaultMfr(6E);
    	P ActionCode(Cfg) Device PartName(EPM7064SL44) Path("") File("EPM7064S.pof") MfrSpec(OpMask(3));
    ChainEnd;
    AlteraBegin;
    	ChainType(JTAG);
    AlteraEnd;
    so the device it looks for in the chain is EPM7064SL44.

    I suspect if you just change the global project device to something like: EPM7064AETC44-10 (lose the -N, it just means lead free)
    and have a similar .cdf file referencing: PartName(EPM7064AET44) maybe it should work ....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Can not program MAX7000

    Quote Originally Posted by ak6dn View Post
    I suspect if you just change the global project device to something like: EPM7064AETC44-10 (lose the -N, it just means lead free)
    and have a similar .cdf file referencing: PartName(EPM7064AET44) maybe it should work ....
    Thank you - I will give that a try.

    Regards,
    Gary.

Similar Threads

  1. MAX7000 programmer and adapter
    By bluebox in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 1st, 2018, 09:28 AM
  2. MAX7000 (EPM7032) power cut during programming -> can not program any more
    By eugeny_brychkov in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2016, 05:04 AM
  3. MAX7000 programming question
    By eugeny_brychkov in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2014, 10:13 AM
  4. Beginner needs help with ISP of MAX7000
    By Gravydog in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 9th, 2014, 01:55 PM
  5. Extract CPLD Max7000 Program with JTAG port
    By preynier in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 9th, 2013, 08:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •