Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Hi,

    I'm trying to install device files for Quartus II 13.1 on Windows 7, but get the error "Can't find Quartus II Web Edition device files (.qdz) in directory ..." (see picture)
    quartuserror.jpg

    Did anyone else hit this Problem?

    Gruß Tobi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    615
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Hi, it may be caused by the redirection of special path (your user's name <--> c:\users\name_user\...)
    Move the *.qdz to a easy directory ("c:\downloads\" for example), and then install from them.
    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    1

    Thumbs down Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by mmTsuchi View Post
    Hi, it may be caused by the redirection of special path (your user's name <--> c:\users\name_user\...)
    Move the *.qdz to a easy directory ("c:\downloads\" for example), and then install from them.
    Regards
    I also tried c:\ and c:\temp no change. I also tried on another PC. Checked MD5 Checksum. Always the same problem. It must be something with my installation procedure or the files.

    Installation procedure:

    1. Copy all Files to Desktop
    2. Start QuartusSetupWeb-13.1.0.162.exe
    3. At end of installation start Quartus
    4. Start device installer from Quartus popup window
    5. Select Folder
    6. Get Error

    Files:
    QuartusSetupWeb-13.1.0.162.exe
    cyclone_V-13.1.0.162.qdz
    cyclone_III_IV-13.1.0.162.qdz

    Maybe someone sees any irregularities. Any help is appreciated

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    615
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Have you tried with "Run Quartus as administrator" ? because *.qdz file will be installed to c:\altera\...

    I had tested a few days ago, faced to a similar problem, retried and it worked (windows vista).

    If I remember correctly, I installed *.qdz from Quartus menu.

    rename those QDZ files by removing the '-' '.' characters. Maybe. I also tried many things.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Thanks for the help.

    I found the Problem. Its the file name. Depending on the Quartus License different names are accepted. The filenames that worked for the Web Editions are:
    cycloneV-13.1.0.162.qdz
    cyclone_web-13.1.0.162.qdz (III/V)

    Gruß Tobi

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    615
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    You should report it in an Altera Request.
    Regards

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by flntobi View Post
    Thanks for the help.

    I found the Problem. Its the file name. Depending on the Quartus License different names are accepted. The filenames that worked for the Web Editions are:
    cycloneV-13.1.0.162.qdz
    cyclone_web-13.1.0.162.qdz (III/V)

    Gruß Tobi
    I had a same problem and thanks to your comment here, I solved it. Only by changing the name, the devices have been installed.
    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    333
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Agree with mmTsuchi, this is something worth reporting to Altera to get it fixed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by tiny007 View Post
    Agree with mmTsuchi, this is something worth reporting to Altera to get it fixed.
    ..not sure its a bug ... I had the same problem ... if the version in the filename does not match your quartus version then the installer cant see it.
    Simply changing the version number in the file name to match your quartus version allows the device installer to see the file. No need to remove dashes etc.

    moodz

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Installing Quartus II device files (.qdz) on Quartus II 13.1

    Hello,

    I had the same problem.
    If the files do not end with .XXX XXX being the quartus version indeed install does not work.
    In my case it was caused by the download file manager that added "(2)" to the file name because i downloaded it twice.

    Best Regards,
    Jogi.

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Altera software 13.0.1 - Stuck at "Installing Quartus II Help"
    By Justin Liang in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 20th, 2014, 01:20 AM
  2. issue installing Quartus-web-13.0.1.232 on win 7 64 bit
    By idan357 in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 16th, 2013, 03:19 PM
  3. Installing Quartus and ModelSim
    By Ventura01 in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 31st, 2013, 03:53 AM
  4. cannot install device files for quartus 10.1
    By jameric in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 26th, 2011, 01:16 PM
  5. Installing Quartus on Linux
    By wronghorizon in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: February 10th, 2008, 02:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •