Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: ALtera FFT Outputs in SignalTapII

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    1

    Default ALtera FFT Outputs in SignalTapII

    Hello,

    I'm using an Alter 1024-point FFT IP (burst) and after implementing it I used SignalTapII for the FFT outputs acquisition. Now, I want to plot these output values using MATLAB but I'm a little confused about the format of these outputs. For testing I used 32-bit real input, all ones, and the imaginary is fixed to zero.

    How are the real and exponent outputs represented; are they just decimal, signed or two's complement signed? How can I correctly plot these outputs?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,559
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: ALtera FFT Outputs in SignalTapII

    Quote Originally Posted by new_user View Post
    Hello,

    I'm using an Alter 1024-point FFT IP (burst) and after implementing it I used SignalTapII for the FFT outputs acquisition. Now, I want to plot these output values using MATLAB but I'm a little confused about the format of these outputs. For testing I used 32-bit real input, all ones, and the imaginary is fixed to zero.

    How are the real and exponent outputs represented; are they just decimal, signed or two's complement signed? How can I correctly plot these outputs?

    Thanks
    altera fftcore if set to block floating point then output = fft_output * 2^(-exponent)

    Re/im data & exponent are all signed.
    signed = decimal = 2's complement...usually

Similar Threads

  1. Viewing Submodule Inputs and Outputs without assigning to Top Level Outputs?
    By arnoldz3 in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 7th, 2017, 11:10 PM
  2. SignalTapII
    By RaqibHayder in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2012, 03:20 PM
  3. SignalTapII question
    By ricardjc in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2011, 08:54 AM
  4. how to set signalTapII?
    By chengangfeng in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 12th, 2009, 03:47 PM
  5. SignalTapII doesn't trigger anything!!!
    By yann in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: February 7th, 2008, 10:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •