Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: PreBuild libraries not working properly for Altera-Modelsim

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    1

    Default PreBuild libraries not working properly for Altera-Modelsim

    Hi,

    I m using altera-modelsim for my project. Quartus has generated a functional simulation model file(.vo). I see most of the altera libraries prebuild and mapped to my project. But when I simulate using my testbench, it fails reporting

    Error: (vsim-3033) /$$$$$$$$$$$$$/simulation/modelsim/$$$$$$$$$$_timestamp_051817_141152.vo(1564905): Instantiation of 'stratixv_io_ibuf' failed. The design unit was not found.

    My understanding is that this library is precompiled as a part of the altera-modelsim, and is present in the library list in my project. What could be the reason why the simulation stopped. Any directions?.


    Regards
    Jeebu Jacob Thomas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: PreBuild libraries not working properly for Altera-Modelsim

    Just an additional information: I m using Modelsim from Quartus15 for simulation and the Quartus14 for generating the simulation file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: PreBuild libraries not working properly for Altera-Modelsim

    Solved the problem. The design was in verilog, and the library support was available only for VHDL. Once I changed the netlist generation option from verilog to VHDL, the error issue got solved.
    Why is there no library support in Verilog for StratixV ?. Or is it available?.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    341
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: PreBuild libraries not working properly for Altera-Modelsim

    There is, but perhaps you have a mixed-language design. Are you using the starter edition of Modelsim-Altera? I think it only supports a design that is all of one language or the other.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: PreBuild libraries not working properly for Altera-Modelsim

    Hi sstrell,

    Thanks for the quick reply. Yes I m using the starter edition of Modelsim-Altera. And my design is mixed with verilog and system verilog. But Altera Tool information page confirms Mixed Support for Starter Edition too.

    https://www.altera.com/products/desi...-software.html




    Thanks and Regards
    Jeebu Jacob Thomas

Similar Threads

  1. Is feasible to load both Altera and Xilinx libraries to same Modelsim?
    By buddha1987 in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 19th, 2012, 02:36 PM
  2. The error when load Altera libraries into ModelSim using Altera tcl scripting
    By buddha1987 in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 29th, 2012, 06:38 PM
  3. Altera Modelsim Starter Edition Libraries
    By jacki2ya in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2012, 09:33 PM
  4. The ModelSim-Altera can't find MegaCore libraries
    By dima in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 30th, 2008, 02:30 PM
  5. Creating Altera libraries for simulation in Modelsim PE/SE
    By pld_wizzard in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 30th, 2007, 08:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •