Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Arria 10 GX Devkit Programming Issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Arria 10 GX Devkit Programming Issue

    When a scan jtag chain is performed on the devkit (all dip switches on default) after an image other than the factory build is programmed to the A10, the configuration flash is no longer seen in the jtag chain. Errors are reported back through the programmer that the flash is not supported by quartus.


    We only do not see this issue when the factory default is programmed (i.e. customer image, board test builds, and example designs all produce this error).


    Is this a known issue? If not, is it something in the rtl of the factory image that the customer is not including in their design?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arria 10 GX Devkit Programming Issue

    Hi avivweinstein,

    I have the same issue on the devkit.
    Actually, it's working sometimes, but on some fitting, the JTAG chain is broken...

    Did you find a solution?

    Regards,
    Lionel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arria 10 GX Devkit Programming Issue

    Are you plugging into the on-board USB-Blaster, using a USB-Blaster plugged into the JTAG port, or something else? When I use the on-board USB-Blaster I don't have problems--other than my USB cable falls out some times.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arria 10 GX Devkit Programming Issue

    I'm using the on-board USB-Blaster.

    The problem seems to be related to the fitting, despite the JTAG is a dedicated hardware controller, using dedicated pins.
    Some of my bitstreams are not working at all while the others work perfectly (with some minor changes, such as revision ID)...

    I also tried to reduce the JTAG clock frequency with no luck..

    Regards

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arria 10 GX Devkit Programming Issue

    Oh, I see what you mean. Usually (80% of the time?) I don't see the configuration flash when executing a JTAG scan--not sure why. Would it work to save the .cdf when you *can* see the config. flash and use that .cdf every time after that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    238
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arria 10 GX Devkit Programming Issue

    Do you have the Altera SFL (serial flash loader) megafunction instantiated in the device image? The flash devices are NOT directly accessible on JTAG and are attached to the FPGA via high speed serial links. There is logic within the FPGA (the SFL megafunction) that must be instantiated that makes the config flash device appear in the JTAG chain as a virtual JTAG device.

    It may very well be some of the sample images don't have this module instantiated, so they don't support JTAG access to the config flash.

    Refer to: https://www.altera.com/ja_JP/pdfs/li...e/an/an370.pdf for into.

Similar Threads

  1. Arria 10 Soc DevKit Golden Top will not build
    By dnovick238 in forum SoC Device Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 31st, 2017, 07:07 AM
  2. Arria 10 GX DevKit Windows Installer?
    By timcosco in forum Development Kit Related
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 20th, 2017, 02:30 AM
  3. Arria V DevKit BTS not running (despite path adjust)
    By majestix in forum Development Kit Related
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 5th, 2013, 06:30 AM
  4. Arria II GX Devkit TSE RGMII Help
    By hendryjh in forum IP Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: April 18th, 2012, 10:43 PM
  5. Arria II GX devkit - PCIe Qsys
    By gvrajkumar in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 11th, 2011, 11:51 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •