Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Maximum width of FIFO

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    54
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Maximum width of FIFO

    Hello,

    The maximum width of a FIFO in the IP catalog GUI wizard is limited to 256 bits.
    I need a wider FIFO and want to avoid cascading FIFOs.

    Will it work to manually change the generated HDL instantiation file to the width I desire (for example 1024 bits) ?

  2. #2
    Tricky is offline Moderator **Forum Master**
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    5,701
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Maximum width of FIFO

    Did you try it? what were the results?
    Why not use two parrallel fifos?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bochum Germany
    Posts
    6,158
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Maximum width of FIFO

    The maximum width of a FIFO in the IP catalog GUI wizard is limited to 256 bits.
    No it isn't. IP user guides say
    Note that you can manually enter a number that is not in the drop-down list.

Similar Threads

  1. Change bus width with a FIFO
    By sebastian.f in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 4th, 2013, 12:16 AM
  2. different width fifo
    By stxo6410 in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 9th, 2013, 06:45 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 11th, 2013, 06:21 AM
  4. Clocked Video Output maximum Image width
    By Ange18 in forum IP Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 21st, 2013, 07:55 AM
  5. Data width in the Avalon-MM Write FIFO in DSP Builder
    By d_gv in forum DSP Builder and DSP IPs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 20th, 2010, 10:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •