Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: FPGA to SFP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    1

    Default FPGA to SFP

    I have designed Cyclone V based FPGA board.

    But i have connected with Normal IO instead of Transceiver IO.

    I need to clarify, whether this will work or not.

    I have attached schematic design.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,406
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    This will depend on how fast you're hoping to operate the SFP module. At 1Gbps? Then no - it's not likely to work. If the SFP will run @ 400Mbps, and that's acceptable to you, then yes - you may be able to get it working.

    Refer to Table 33: 'High-Speed I/O Specifications for Cyclone V Devices' - in the "Cyclone V Device Datasheet" for the max differential data rates you can expect for 'normal' I/O.

    Cheers,
    Alex

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    Hi Alex,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I would like to know, is there any AC coupling needed between FPGA and SFP.

    Because, while loop back testing SFP module I am always getting 1 output.

    May I know the difference between Normal IO vs Transceiver IO.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bochum Germany
    Posts
    6,158
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    SFP transceivers are AC coupled (already inside the module). You get only correct output with DC balanced signal, e.g. 8b/10b encoded. If you use LVDS I/O standard with Cyclone 5, add external DC bias for RX.

    There are 622 MBPS SFP modules that should work with Cyclone V standard SERDES. 1 GBPS modules are not specified for lower data rates, I presume they'll work at 400 - 600 MBPS as well.

    May I know the difference between Normal IO vs Transceiver IO.
    Gigabit transceivers of GX/GT devices have fast receiver hardware for 614 MBPS to 3.1/6.1 GBPS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply.

    For the above design, i used Avango HFBR-57E0APZ SFP transceiver.

    I have designed for SFP loopback test. But I didnt receive any output.

    I would like to know, can i get the output with this schematic using this Avango IC.

    Please support.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bochum Germany
    Posts
    6,158
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    I have designed for SFP loopback test. But I didnt receive any output.
    How did you setup the test? What's the IO configuration?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    What happens if we connect the SFP differential transmitter and receiver pin with FPGA differential IO pin instead of Transceiver IO in Cyclone V FPGA.?

    What are the IP needed to communicate FPGA with SFP.?

    Please clarify.?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,406
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    Then it's possible to achieve the I/O speeds specified in the 'High-Speed I/O Specifications for Cyclone V Devices' section of the datasheet.

    What IP? This depends on what you want to do - you don't necessarily need any.

    Altera offer a 'Serial Gigabit Media Independent Interface', but you might struggle to get that working given how you've connected up your SFP.

    Cheers,
    Alex

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    Quote Originally Posted by a_x_h_75 View Post
    Then it's possible to achieve the I/O speeds specified in the 'High-Speed I/O Specifications for Cyclone V Devices' section of the datasheet.

    What IP? This depends on what you want to do - you don't necessarily need any.

    Altera offer a 'Serial Gigabit Media Independent Interface', but you might struggle to get that working given how you've connected up your SFP.

    Cheers,
    Alex

    I tried to implement SFP without IP.

    But i am struck up with output.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    229
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: FPGA to SFP

    SFP modules are AC coupled (inline capacitors within the module) by design. Driving the SFP using two single ended outputs in a pseudo-differential mode can be made to work (especially at lower signal bandwidths like 100Mb ethernet or 155Mb OC3). Once you get to 622Mb OC12 or higher using this mode is not likely to work well.

    Receiving however is a different matter. Since the signals are AC coupled, at the SFP pins you will see single ended signal swings around 0V DC (like -1V to +1V). These levels are not within the valid input range for a single ended receiver, which will be 0V to some VCCIO like 3.3V/2.5V/1.8V. You must terminate the signals in the correct line impedance (ie, 40 to 80 ohms, depending on layout) to maintain signal quality, AND add a DC offset to move the signal into the switching range of the receiver.

    Typical boards that interface to SFP modules have resistive termination circuits that perform the termination/restore to (usually) 100ohm differential and a Vt that depends on the receiver, typically this is VCCIO-1.2V or so.

    So I think you need to rethink your board design. Just connecting an SFP module to single ended I/O on the FPGA with no external signal conditioning circuit will not work.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 22
    Last Post: April 13th, 2017, 08:42 AM
  2. Cylone2 - FPGA Not Detecting - Hardware Issue?. FPGA Device Failed?
    By manoj87 in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 7th, 2015, 07:05 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: September 19th, 2014, 03:51 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 23rd, 2014, 05:15 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •