Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Quartus main window is blank (Linux)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Quartus main window is blank (Linux)

    Hi, I attached PNG file of a problem I'm having, I just installed Quartus on my Linux CentOS 7 machine and when I start it, I get just a blank window frame with the title "Quartus Prime Standard Edition". I'm running this on a remote server, using VNC server and Gnome.


    System information:
    CentOs 7.4.1708
    kernel 3.10.0-693.2.2.el7.x86_64

    Anyone see anything like this before? I'm new to Quartus and never encountered anything like this before.

    EDIT: I think Gnome is the problem, tried starting up a new vnc display using kde and it worked. If anyone knows how to get this to work with Gnome, please comment!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by nycdeveloper; October 5th, 2017 at 10:38 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Quartus main window is blank (Linux)

    Hi,

    This might related with the dependencies on your CentOs itself. Do you have xmonad package installed? Kindly see below link for further information:
    http://hackage.haskell.org/package/xmonad

    So, in you CentOS, I assume you can use yum search xmonad to list out related packages and then do a yum install <packages_name> then restart your Quartus tools. More open source command here:

    https://wiki.haskell.org/Xmonad/Inst..._xmonad#Fedora

    Best Regards,
    Joseph Cheah
    (This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Quartus main window is blank (Linux)

    I have the same issue.
    I work around it with :
    - a second VNC session on a differernt system.
    - connect with an ssh connection to the machine on which I run quartus
    - redirecting the display on the ssh session to the other VNC.
    Both machines are on Centos 6
    2.6.32-642.11.1.el6.x86_64 #1 SMP Fri Nov 18 19:25:05 UTC 2016 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Quartus main window is blank (Linux)

    I have a blank "License Setup Required" gui. Could you mention the sequence of exact commands to execute to make this work

Similar Threads

  1. quartus main display
    By kolouch in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 25th, 2014, 07:39 AM
  2. quartus programmer says EPCS is blank when it is not
    By crabbyjacket in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 18th, 2011, 09:46 AM
  3. Quartus Low run speed in window xp 64bit than window xp 32bit&window 7 64bit
    By w1d1h in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 2nd, 2011, 07:07 PM
  4. Quartus 9.1 GUI window won't resize
    By nicolm in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 6th, 2010, 07:45 AM
  5. Quartus II 9.0 SP2 Compatibility with Window XP
    By adenike in forum Shared Material
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 17th, 2009, 08:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •