Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

    Has anybody came across this error? After hours of searching, I can't find anything on this.

    I only get this error when I try to drive 8 or more register from one of the ALTPLL output.

    Error: Can't assign node "name_altpll:auto_generated|wire_pll1_clk[0]" to any location (ID: 176359)
    Last edited by xoox; January 8th, 2018 at 11:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    487
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

    Hi,

    Can post some part of your code?
    I have tried to drive 8 registers and it was without any error.

    Best Regards,
    Anand Raj Shankar
    (This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

    My apologies, I meant 14 registers or more. I'm trying to drive 14 register with clk27M. Here is a snippet of the code with 4 registers; there are 14 registers using this clk in total.


    PLL PLL(.inclk(clk50M), .c0(clkA), .c1(clk, .c2(clkC), .c3(clkD), .locked(pll_lock));

    reg [7:0] a = '0;
    always @ (posedge clkA)
    a = (some conditional statement) ? a + 1 : 0;

    reg[31:0][7:0] b = '0;
    always @ (posedge clkA)
    b[a[7:0]] = (some conditional statement) ? data : b[a[7:0]];

    Thank you
    Last edited by xoox; January 16th, 2018 at 02:59 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

    My apologies, I meant 14 or more registers. I'm trying to drive 14 registers from the output of the ALTPLL with 27M and input of 50M.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    487
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

    Quote Originally Posted by xoox View Post
    My apologies, I meant 14 or more registers. I'm trying to drive 14 registers from the output of the ALTPLL with 27M and input of 50M.
    Hi,

    Which device you are using?
    We can drive 14 or more registers, which depends on Number of LE available on device (FPGA)
    Do check the code again.
    i have tried to reproduce the error but it was successful compilation Check the image.


    Best Regards,
    Anand Raj Shankar
    (This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

    I'm currently using the MAX10; the model I used have one PLL. Please see attachment.
    If I comment out any one of the 14 reg I created and compile, I have a successful compilation. It only gives me an error when I leave all 14 reg in.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by xoox; January 10th, 2018 at 08:24 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    487
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

    Hi,

    Check the following link which may help you on the error.
    http://quartushelp.altera.com/14.1/m...d_mismatch.htm

    Best Regards,
    Anand Raj Shankar
    (This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Error: Can't assign node "<name_pll>" to any location (ID: 176359)

    Hello,

    I didn't modify the .qsf file manually so I don't think this applies to my current error.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2016, 03:22 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 31st, 2016, 11:01 AM
  3. "Cant place node <name> -- illegal location assignment INCONSISTENCY"
    By huisken in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 4th, 2015, 09:57 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 24th, 2015, 01:20 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 24th, 2012, 06:21 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •