Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Simulation stops before simtime

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    1

    Unhappy Simulation stops before simtime

    Any ideas why a simulation would stop early? When I run the simulation, scopes show the full simtime. However, after about 2-15% of the simtime, simulation will stop. If I keep the simtime the same and simulate again, it will stop at the same number of cycles. If I reduce or increase the simtime, it will still stop at a different percentage. I have two models in my project. The other runs as expected.

    simtime = 36000 stops at T=2962
    simtime = 299600 stops at T=6062

    I'm using start time of 0 and stop time of simtime. Solver is set to Fixed-step discrete.

    Any input would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    525
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Simulation stops before simtime

    I have no idea, but I have a few additional questions.
    When it stops can you run again?
    Which simulator are you using?
    How do you run a simulation?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Simulation stops before simtime

    When it stops can you run again?
    Yes. I get the chime sound same as when simulation completes normally.

    Which simulator are you using?
    Running inside Simulink. Only simulating the DSP system.

    How do you run a simulation?
    Ctrl-T to build and run

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Simulation stops before simtime

    Found the issue! There was a simulink stop block hidden deep down in a subsystem that was being triggered by a data check. This was triggering due to some bad data in my matlab workspace. I inherited that portion of the model from another engineer. Pretty obvious now that I found it!

Similar Threads

  1. Progress stops during compilation
    By dacueva in forum OpenCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 25th, 2017, 06:40 AM
  2. Running the ModelSim simulation never stops
    By LeonardooBorges in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 26th, 2017, 06:52 PM
  3. nios stops.
    By bakkefredrik in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 9th, 2011, 01:43 AM
  4. Nios simulation stops after reset vector
    By GregoryN in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 22nd, 2010, 02:07 AM
  5. Nios stops?
    By fplank in forum General Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 15th, 2006, 09:21 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •